April 21, 2022
County Board Chair Patrick Miles, (608) 886-9167
County Board

The organizational meeting for the Dane County Board was held Tuesday evening where officers were elected, and a new County Board term began.


Supervisor Patrick Miles (District 34) was elected County Board Chair, making him the first person of color to lead the Dane County Board. With 16 years of service on the County Board, Miles will now be leading the most diverse County Board in history.


"I am grateful to former chair Eicher for leading the board through an unprecedented time where we had to figure out a way to keep county government moving through a pandemic," said Chair Miles. "I am honored and humbled by the faith and trust my colleagues have placed in me to chair the board. I am committed to supporting them in their efforts to best serve the community. I am proud to be the first person of color elected to chair the Dane County Board, especially at a time when we have the most diverse board in Dane County history. Together, we are putting a new face on county government and stepping up to address issues of disparity and improve inclusivity in county services."


Supervisor Andrew Schauer (District 21) was elected First Vice Chair, Supervisor April Kigeya (District 15) was elected Second Vice Chair, and Supervisors Yogesh Chawla (District 6) and Maureen McCarville (District 22) were elected Sergeants at Arms.


As the County Board has continued to meet virtually, 11 new and 26 existing Dane County Board Supervisors took the oath of office to begin the 2022-2024 County Board term. The following Supervisors were sworn in as new Supervisors:


Jeff Hynes – District 5

Jeffrey Glazer – District 8

Aaron Collins – District 10

Olivia Xistris-Songpanya – District 13

April Kigeya – District 15

Rick Rose – District 16

Jacob Wright – District 17

Brenda Yang – District 19

Kierstin Huelsemann – District 27

Dana Pellebon – District 33

Michael Engelberger – District 35


The 2022-2024 Board now represents districts that were adopted by the previous Board during the 2021 redistricting process. These districts will remain in place for 10 years, until the next redistricting process takes place.


The first regular meeting of the new County Board will take place on Thursday, May 5 at 7:00pm.  Chair Miles intends to make committee assignments in the coming days.

Back to Press Releases